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    T h e   e M a r k e t i n g   D i g e s t   W e e k l y

    Discussing & Defining Internet Marketing. Since May, 1997
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    Edited by Gary K. Foote & C.J. Foote
    Library of Congress ISSN 1522-6913
    Volume #2,Issue #342
    Monday, August 7, 2000

    Current Membership Count: 2445


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-----------------------  In This Issue  -------------------------

   - Editor's Ramble
        by Gary K. Foote

   - e-mail Marketing
        by Gary K. Foote

   - How do you market your site?
        eMD Marketing Poll

   - eMD Member to Member HelpDesk

        Subscribe to the Info-ReSource
        by Gary K. Foote

        Re: Prague Lecturer
        by Bonnie Neubeck
        by George Matyjewicz

        Re: Matching email addys to snail-mail addys
        by Doug Boicourt
        by Mike Gray

        Re: e-Mail Marketing
        by Joe King

        CRM
        by Tina Wordtmann

        International Marketing
        by Raymond W. Cowan

   - New Member Comments & Questions

        Measuring Results
        by Angeline Hon

   - New Member Locations

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*** Editor's Ramble
    by Gary K. Foote, Editor

Hi Everyone,

This issue marks the opening of a discussion about marketing with
email.  This subject, according to our new member's signup
comments, is one of great interest to most.  I'm sure this
reflects the same weight of interest among our not so new members
as well.  I hope you all will join in with your opinions of, and
experiences with email marketing.  See my post at the end of this
introduction for my opening thoughts.

We have some responses to last issue's Member to Member requests
for help, 'Prague Lecturer', 'Matching email addys to snail-mail
addys', and 'e-mail Marketing'.  The last I almost included in
our new discussion on email marketing, but as it was a direct
response to another Member it is placed in that area of this
issue.  Thanks to all for taking the time to help other eMD
Members.

As always, please take the time to visit this issue's sponsor, "
", as it is our advertisers who keep the eMD a free resource.
You may follow links to our sponsors from their links in each
issue of the eMD, or from our Sponsor Resources web page located
at;
http://www.webbers.com/emark/sponsors.html

Finally, please forward this issue of the eMD on to your friends
and business associates to help us build our membership.

Now let's get marketing...

GKF, Ed.



***  e-mail Marketing
     by Gary K. Foote

Hi Everyone,

As you all know, email is perhaps the most powerful marketing
tool in the online arena available today, yet its capacity for
misuse is enormous.  Judging from the amount and variety of
commercial messages I get every day its uses range from
horrifically conceived and uncaringly sent out, to mesmerisingly
created, and ethically and successfully sent out.

The former seem to be in the majority, a situation that has
significant consequences today and is poised to be even worse in
the future.  It is my hope that opening this discussion will have
some, albeit small, slowing impact on the growing tide of SPAM,
and even more importantly, perhaps become a manual of sorts for
ethical and successful e-mail marketing.

Here is how I see the breakdown of issues;

    What is SPAM?
    What is SPAM's impact?
    Why you should not partake in SPAMming
    Unsolicited Commercial E-mail
    The ethics of professional e-mail marketing
    The methods of ethical e-mail marketing

Here is some current info on SPAM;

    1) America Online says, "if a marketer provides a legitimate
    return address and an option to reject solicitations, they
    will be left alone."   This means that AOL will not ban you
    from sending to their customers as long as you properly
    identify yourself and provide remove instructions that really
    work.

    2) Yesmail recently won a temporary restraining order
    preventing MAPS [Mail Abuse Prevention System] from listing
    Yesmail as a spammer on their website at;
    http://mail-abuse.org/

    The lawsuit and the order were both suspended last week.
    Both parties agreed to negotiate a settlement.

    3) One association working to reduce the impact of anti-spam
    regulations is the Direct Email Advertisers Association;
    http://www.deaa.org/

    Their goal is to promote ethical email marketing while
    keeping legislation and watchdog organizations from
    infringing upon their 'rights to send commercial email'.

So, current thoughts seem to be that as long as you correctly
identify yourself, provide a valid return address and honor all
remove requests you will not be labelled a SPAMmer.  My position
on this is that assuming the foregoing is correct and acting on
its method will definitely get you labelled as a SPAMmer.  Why?
Because not everyone agrees with the definition of SPAM.  There
are those who will follow you to the ends of the earth trying to
get you kicked offline for sending them a commercial email.
There are enough of these people to make me not want to risk my
business reputation by engaging the ire of a large group of
reactionary anti-SPAMmers.

What do you think?

Gary K. Foote, Editor

-------------------------------------------------
Respond to this post: mailto:emd-post@webbers.com
-------------------------------------------------


*** How do you market your site?
    eMD Marketing Poll

Banners                     (98)    15%
Opt in E-mail               (90)    14%
Reciprocal links            (72)    11%
One-way links               (43)    7%
Newsletter/e-zine ads       (63)    10%
Search engine positioning  (137)    21%
Offline ads                 (82)    13%
Other                       (54)    8%

Total Votes:                639

Some suggestions made in the 'Other' category include the
following;

    Word of mouth
    Direct mail
    Affiliate Programs or Strategic Alliances
    Subscription based e-mail
    Direct mail
    "Planned" Email Networking integrated with offline networking
    Leads Generation Service
    Online classified ads

To participate in the eMD Member's Poll and to keep current on
results go to;

http://www.webbers.com/emark/


---------------------- Sponsor Message --------------------------



        Make your website SHOUT at the Search Engines!
                   Web Traffic = Web Sales

        W E B B E R S      C O M M U N I C A T I O N S

   Search engine specialists with a successful track record
   Contact us now mailto:gkfoote@webbers.com?SUBJECT=eMD342

             Our Website   http://www.webbers.com



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*** eMD Member to Member HelpDesk



Subscribe to the Info-ReSource
by Gary K. Foote

Hi Everyone,

Last Tuesday I got the following email from charter eMD member
Keith Londrie, whose Info-ReSource website and newsletter have
been valuable contributions to the internet community for some
time now.  I will let his email speak for itself, other than to
say that what Keith publishes carries my personal recommendation.

GKF - Ed

-- begin Keith's email --

Hi Gary,

Hope all is well with you. I'm doing better than should be
expected!

I lost four years worth of data due to a bad power supply. One of
the essential items was my subscriber list for the Info-ReSource.

The backup drive was corrupted and the repair shop could not
retrieve my data.

I am asking for your help. Can you mention a few times in the emd
about my misfortune and hopefully get some of my old subscribers
back? Of course, new subscribers would be welcome too :).

The Info-ReSource has been published since 1996. It has gone
through many changes and is now in a format that I think most
people like.  The weekly newsletter focuses on providing 5
free/low cost sources of information on a wide variety of topics.
Most of  these are sources within our own (USA) government. The
Wednesday publication contains a section on "Question and  answer
of the Week" a section called "Wisdoms of the week" and  also a
section entitled Science and Technology".

Get a sample issue by mailto:sample@info-resource.com

Well, that is a little about the info-ReSource.

Thank you so much in advance for your help,

Keith

*************** http://info-resource.com ************************
Keith Londrie II
Information Specialist              The Info-ReSource
2466 340th St. Suite #16      mailto:subscribe@info-resource.com
Keokuk, Iowa 52632
infoserv@info-resource.com
319-524-1763 International
800-804-5832 Toll Free
319-524-6705 Fax

**************** Research the way you want it ******************



-----  NEXT POST  -----


Re: Prague Lecturer
by Bonnie Neubeck

As NETprofit.com's founder, I have 6 year's of online marketing
experience on top of 25 year's of international marketing
experience (love Prague) and now specialize in e-visibility.
Also have lectured on marketing in China, Taiwan, Costa Rica, and
Europe.

Check NETprofit.com for details on our integrated e-visibility
services.

Please send details of your requirements. I am most interested.

Sincerely, Bonnie J. Neubeck
_
__________________________________
Web Sites That Work-consulting, creation & management since 1994
Bonnie J. Neubeck                    BJN@IBCtheInternet.com
Internet Broadcasting Corporation    www.ibctheinternet.com
Tel:  612.341.4300                    Fax:  612.371.0010



-----  NEXT POST  -----


Re: Prague Lecturer
by George Matyjewicz

At 09:29 AM 8/1/2000 -0400, Webbers Communications wrote:


>Internet Marketing Gurus
>by Jeffrey Forbes
>
>I am looking for "affordable" Internet Marketing
> Gurus to come to
>Prague to lecture on (preferably) B2B Web marketing to local
>marketing professionals. Where can I find them "easily"
>
>Thanks,
>
>Jeffrey Forbes

That's one of my specialities.  I was keynote speaker at the last
Giftware Executives conference in Chicago and discussed B2B
marketing.  And I have spoken at a couple of other conferences
on  the same topic.  I own/moderate a B2B digest, and am Chief
E-Commerce Officer for a large B2B giftware company representing
some of the world's largest factories.  Since 1983 I have spoken
at over 200 seminars and conferences.

My rates are reasonable.

I would have posted this directly and not taken up space on
E-Marketing Digest, however, there wasn't an e-address.   So
contact me offlist.

George
_______________________________________________________
George Matyjewicz  -  GAP Enterprises, Ltd.
http://www.gapent.com/
Moderator of E-Tailer's Digest http://www.gapent.com/etailer/
Chief E-Commerce Officer Silk Road Gifts
http://www.silkroadgifts.com
Automated Press Releases http://www.gapent.com/pr/
Marketing Your Web http://www.gapent.com/myweb/


[Editor's Comment]

I intentionally remove all email addresses from incoming email
headers.  However, if a member includes an email address in their
signature it will not be edited out.  This policy not only
protects the privacy of our members to the extent to which I feel
responsible, but keeps this publication 'alive' with 'request and
response' interactions.  Imagine if all member to member
interaction took place offlist?  There would be lots of requests
for help and a great big vacuum for visible response.  There
would be much less of a feeling of community here in the eMD.

FYI - I forward all incoming responses to member requests as they
arrive so those seeking the help do not have to wait for the next
issue of the eMD to get the info they want.

GKF - Ed.



-----  NEXT POST  -----



Re: Matching email addys to snail-mail addys
by Doug Boicourt

Last issue Kevin Gruys asked;

    "I was wondering if you know of a company that can take our
    data base of names and mailing address and do a reverse to
    match them with an email data base."

Hi Kevin,

Don't waste your money. Most of the time they
can only match a small percentage of your list.

A better way to go, is to create a contest or
drawing web page, and send your customer
list a post card announcing it. You will get a
much larger response to somthing FREE if
they can all get it. Try a 20% off coupon for
those who signup by a certain date.


Thank you,
Doug Boicourt

TradeSmart     http://www.TradeSmartInc.com/
749 S. Lemay Ave.  #214
Fort Collins, CO  80524



-----   NEXT POST - SAME TOPIC  -----



Re: Matching House Lists to e-mail files
by Mike Gray

Yesmail.com is able to provide this service.

Mike Gray
VP Direct Marketing
Kerker Marketing Communications



-----  NEXT POST  -----



Re: e-Mail Marketing
by Joe King

Last issue KY Chok wrote;

    "How to differentiate my marketing email from being treated
    as bulk, spaming email?"

First, Your list has to subscribe to your offering or be
purchased from a marketing service, like Double Click
or Yes.com

Second, your mail must include unsubscribe links!
(Note, decide whether you want your "unsubscribers"
to stop receiving one particular subject from your company
or unsubscribe from all future campaigns)

Third, all new registration methods should have a double
opt-in method to guarantee the validity of the database.

Joe King
MINCOM


-------------------------------------------------
Respond to this post: mailto:emd-post@webbers.com
-------------------------------------------------




----- NEXT POST  -----


CRM
by Tina Wordtmann

Hi Everyone,

I'm a new member and could use some help finding a
company that would help us build a Customer
Relationship Management via e-Mail. We are located in
the North East of the country and would like to work
with someone in this area.

Our goal is to build a database founded on existing
Data and of course expand this. We would like to be
able to offer our customers shopping ideas and
product-news.
If you already have made experience with any company
who provides this service, either good or bad once,
please let me know.
Thanks in advance.

Tina Wordtmann
mail to: twordtmann@yahoo.com



-----  NEXT POST  -----


International Marketing
by Raymond W. Cowan

I have a very successful four year relationship with a company
who has recently started up a subsidiary which markets Internet
products.  Although just 3 months old, the company is moving very
quickly and has now expanded into over 230 countries.

What, where and how are the best ways for attracting
international interest, via the Internet, both on a consumer
level and a distribution (opportunity) level?
www.massiveaction.evisionbiz.com

Sincerely, Ray Cowan
Cowan International



***  Need help with your online marketing efforts?  Looking for a
particular resource that seems to be eluding you? Need an answer
to an online marketing question?  Let the eMD Member to Member
HelpDesk help you find the answers you need.  Here's the request
address...  ask away.
mailto:emd-marketing-help@webbers.com




***  New Member Comments & Questions


Measuring Results
by Angeline Hon

[I am interested in info on] CPM, applets, click thru rate,
clicks, how to measure successful online marketing strategy?

Angeline


[Editor's Response]

Hi Angeline,

Welcome to the eMD community.  There are lots of ways of
measuring your response to online marketing, but I think the
simplest is to create a target page for each campaign and track
visits to that page with a counter or by reading your log files.
You can further break things down by providing a unique page for
each ad placed.  This allows you to track the effectivness of
each.

CPM = Cost per thousand [impressions].  The eMD price for a top
of issue advertisement is $30 CPM.  This issue's membership count
[number of impressions] is 2445.  To figure the cost of a single
top of issue ad divide total membership by 1000, then multiply
the product by 30.  So for this example, 1000/2445 = 2.445 X 30 =
$73.35.

GKF - Ed.




***  New Member Locations


Hong Kong                   1
India                       2
Poland                      1
Singapore                   2
Sweden                      1
Turkey                      1
United Kingdom              1
United States              10




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*** The eMD Member's Links Directory, a Member's Resource page to
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members wth whom you can do business.  Let's pull together as a
community and generate some business for each other every day.
List your business right now...
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The eMarketing Digest is published by  Webbers Communications
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Please feel free to forward this digest in its entirety.
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